Something Smells Good.

March 31, 2011

Lavender

Smells like heaven.

Visually, flowers are beautiful and decorative, but they can also fulfill your sense of smell. Flowers can be great aromatherapy but sometimes, the most beautiful blooms don’t have any smell at all or have too overwhelming of a smell.  Below is a list to help you navigate the fragrant world of flowers.

Lavender- This is one of my favorite flowers to use for beauty and scent. The smell of lavender evokes feeling of calm and rest and is a perfect bloom to use frequently in your home. The flowers last a long time as does the calming scent.

Roses- This may seem a bit cliche, but trust me, roses are not only beautiful but also have a very mellow fresh scent. In fact, rose is one of my very favorite scents. It’s romantic but not overpowering. The trick is to get the roses from a farmers market and not a commercial seller. Commercially sold roses usually have less of a scent.

Peonies- Peonies are beautiful and unique flowers to use in arrangements and bouquets. They have a very light woodsy scent that can sometimes come off as citrusy. Peonies are some of my favorite flowers to have around the house because they are so unexpected and the scent is very really fresh and clean smelling.

What are your favorite smelling flowers?

6 Responses to “Something Smells Good.”

  1. I couldn’t pick a favorite smelling flower. That would be like asking me which of my friends, family members or which of my dogs was my favorite! I have several flowers that remind me of my Grandmothers. Both being farm women, had small flower beds they tended to, and that’s probably the reason I have an appreciation and love of flowers. The scents take me back to special times and memories in my life. What a pleasant thought! The scent of a flower being of past and present. I hope the flowers I surround my house and property with make a pleasant memory for others.

    • Absolutely! It is quite difficult to pick, my favorite changes daily with my mood but I have yet to have a day when lavender doesn’t smell like heaven. I absolutely love the idea of the scent of a flower being past and present!

  2. Mimi said

    I would love to be in that field of lavender. I love lavender, peonies and freesia. Sometimes I get potted hyacinth for the flower shop.

  3. Chloe said

    Hi – thanks for visiting my blog earlier today 😀 I love flowers, so have decided to subscribe to your blog…the photos on here are awesome!

    Chloe xx

Leave a Reply

